IPL rules changed: Now every team will get 4 DRS in the match

The 15th season of the IPL will begin on March 26. The BCCI had previously altered some of the tournament’s rules. The rules governing a team’s playing XI have been changed to DRS. According to a Cricbuzz report, if cases of corona are discovered in a team, the starting XI can be changed.

If the team is unable to prepare the Playing XI, the match will be postponed. If the match is not held even later, the issue will be referred to the technical committee.

According to a BCCI official, if a team is unable to take the field due to Corona with 12 players (including 7 Indians) and one substitute, BCCI will attempt to reschedule the match in the middle of the season. If this is also not possible, the matter will be referred to the IPL’s Technical Committee, which will make the final decision.

What was the previous rule?

The rule in the IPL until now was that if a match could not be completed even after rescheduling, the losing team would be awarded two points.

Now, two DRS will be available per innings, for a total of four DRS in the match.

Aside from that, teams will now receive two DRS instead of one in each innings, allowing them to take a total of four DRS in the match. In addition, the board has decided to implement the catch rule in the tournament, which was recently changed by the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC). If any batsman is caught out, the strike will not be considered changed, and only the new batsman will come on strike, according to MCC’s new rules. The strike will be changed if the catch occurs on the last ball of the over.

Changed the tie-breaker rule as well.

The tie-breaker rule in the playoffs and finals has also been altered. If a Super Over is not possible after a tie in a playoff or final match, or if the next Super Over is not possible after the Super Over, the match winner will be determined by the results of both teams in the league stage. It will be completed. In other words, the team that finishes first in the league stage will be declared the winner.

The first match will take place on March 26.

The Wankhede Stadium will host the first match of the tournament on March 26 between Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders. Only the location and dates of league matches have been revealed so far. The status of the playoffs and the championship has yet to be determined. The final match will take place on May 29.

Maharashtra will host all league stage matches.

Maharashtra will host all 70 matches in the league stage. There will be 55 matches in Mumbai and 15 in Pune. Wankhede Stadium and Dr. DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai will host 20 matches, while Brabourne Stadium will host 15 matches. The MCA International Stadium in Pune will host the remaining 15 matches.

The Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans, two new IPL teams, will begin their campaigns on March 28. Wankhede Stadium will host this match as well.

Screen Daily

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.